Bynum-Grace Receives Certificate of Dedication

Perry Councilmember Phyllis Bynum-Grace received the prestigious Certificate of Dedication award from the Harold F. Holtz Municipal Training Institute during the Georgia Municipal Association’s (GMA) Mayors’ Day conference in Atlanta on Sunday, January 21.

The Harold F. Holtz Municipal Training Institute, a cooperative effort of GMA and the University of Georgia’s Carl Vinson Institute of Government, provides a nationally recognized series of training opportunities for city officials. The Certificate of Dedication requires 276 hours of training, including at least 108 hours from a required list of classes, 18 hours of which must be from a new Advanced Leadership track, and the Robert E. Knox, Jr. Municipal Leadership Institute. After obtaining the Certificate of Dedication, officials must complete nine hours of continuing education each year to maintain the certificate. The training program consists of a series of more than 60 courses.

Bynum-Grace was one of 11 city officials to receive the Certificate of Dedication at the conference.

“This is outstanding achievement truly speaks to the dedication shown by these recipients,” said GMA Executive Director Larry Hanson. “We commend Councilmember Bynum-Grace for this accomplishment and for the commitment she’s shown in using this valuable resource to become a more effective city official. Councilmember Bynum-Grace serves as an example to other city officials across the state.”

“The dedication shown by these eleven public servants from across the state to enhance their skills and knowledge of municipal governance is remarkable,” said Stacy Jones, Associate Director of Governmental Training, Education, and Development for the UGA Carl Vinson Institute of Government. “Their commitment to education means they are bringing back tools, insights, knowledge, resources and networks to strengthen their cities. The Institute of Government is proud to partner with GMA to make this expanded training opportunity available to Georgia’s city leaders.”