The City of Perry has been organized under the Council-Manager form of government since 1986. City Council is the legislative body of the City and is empowered by the City Charter to make City policy decisions. Council members, including the Mayor, are elected at large for four-year staggering terms.

The City presently has seven operating departments: Administration, Community Development, Economic Development, Fire, Police, Public Works and Recreation. Each department has a Director who is responsible to the City Manager.

Perry is fortunate to have an active and involved citizenry. Citizen participation in city government is particularly evident in the many Commissions appointed by the City Council.

Citizens interested in serving on a board or commission are encouraged to contact the City Manager.